Splendid Sampler Throw Quilt

In 2016 I took part in the Splendid Sampler quilt along. As I was just learning to quilt and six inch blocks are quite a challenge, I used scrap material and a few fat quarters. I was going for a purple / yellow look, but I used red/blue too, thinking I might make two quilts. However after thirty blocks I was distracted by other quilt making and just let the blocks sit.

However I thought it a shame to just leave them so decided to practice a little free motion quilting and complete it as a quilt as you go.  The quilt is very bright! But… it makes my heart happy and I am already finding it very cosy for cool nights to cuddle into as I read or watch TV.

I completed this quilt in April 2017. I have pre-ordered the Splendid Sampler book and would like to make a large quilt with a quieter more homogenous colours. But one that I still love.

Throw Quilt

.Some of the blocks included. Clicking on them will bring them up larger.

I added cuddle fleece to the back, I had already backed with material, but I wanted something warmer. I had used a cotton batting, which is really a summer kind of weight.

Backing of quilt

I have washed it successfully and now to use!

 

One thought on “Splendid Sampler Throw Quilt

  1. Pingback: The Splendid Sampler – Rinse and Repeat | My Quilting Journey

Leave a Reply

