Grandma’s Kitchen:Block #3

Block #3 in the Grandma’s Kitchen QAL with Pat Sloan is called the Key Holder by Pat.  I do not remember either of my grandparents having a key holder. Neither set had cars, so no car keys. I am not sure if they locked doors, but if they did the key was most likely just kept in the door.  So instead I’ll just talk about Nana T for this block.

What I remember about her was that she was deaf. As a pre-schooler around 4 or 5 when I came down to the kitchen in her home,  in the morning she did not have her hearing aid in. She’d have her slippers and apron on, may even have been smoking a cigarette, but not reached getting those aids in. When I would ask her something she’d say in her gentle voice, “Just a moment dear, I haven’t got my hearing aid in”.

The key to being heard was those hearing aids. I remember the batteries, they were big and she kept them down her chest somewhere! Not quite sure how that worked!

The key holder quilt block

One thought on “Grandma’s Kitchen:Block #3

  1. Pingback: Splendid Sampler Blocks and more. | Kathryn Quilts

Leave a Reply

