Grandma’s Kitchen: Half a Modern

Block 4 Grandma's Kitchen QAL

Block 4 Half a Modern designed by Pat Sloan.

Pat talks about her half modern Grandma’s Kitchen – however neither of my grandma’s had very modern kitchens. At least when I first stayed with them back in the ’50’s. When they were much older and had changed houses they did have a fridge, electric stove etc.

My Nana T’s kitchen was at the back of a large wooden villa, facing South towards the Antarctic, so therefore away from the sun and facing cold winds. It was very cold in the winter and until the fire that heated the oven was going, it was shivery!  While I don’t remember exactly where, there would have been a safe to keep things cool as in those days just a few years off having a fridge.  When she moved to live near her daughter in later life she had a small kitchen with better mod cons.

My Nana C’s kitchen did have a refrigerator because when I lay in bed at night in a small room off the kitchen I was comforted by the humming of it. She moved at least four times before she came to live with my parents. Her kitchens were small but adequate and she produced some very yummy roast meals from them. Her gravy was superb.

And a modern tale

I don’t ever remember cooking with them, but as a very half modern aside, the other day I walked into one of my sister’s kitchens to find her with her three and a half year old grandson Max up on the bench and he was cutting out circles with a glass for little savouries for his sister’s birthday – the next day. Later I believe Anne put the beaten eggs into a teapot so that he could pour it over the mixture. I so hope he remembers his grandma’s kitchen in the future.

One thought on “Grandma’s Kitchen: Half a Modern

  1. Pingback: Splendid Sampler Blocks and more. | Kathryn Quilts

Leave a Reply

