July finish for One Month Goal

One Monthly Goal button

Elm Street Quilts OMG link up

I had one main goal for July which was to sandwich and quilt my Garden Charm quilt designed by Lynette Jensen, that I had been making from a Craftsy Class.  I am happy to say I have completed it and gifted it to my sister, to keep her cosy on the couch at night.

  1. After pressing it I sandwiched and basted. The backing is a cuddle fleece – blue with white stars. The batting is wool.Sandwiching the Garden Charm quilt
  2. Then the long, tedious stitching in the ditch began. I started from the outside and worked my way in. I was happy to meet no problems. Once I had all the main lines completed, I then went around the applique and most of the piecing. Finally the parts that had no piecing and lastly I basted the very edge. All pins out. I love taking that final pin out.Starting on the edge
  3. Next on went the binding. I find a lint roller is perfect for holding the binding and rolls off nicely.Sewing binding on quilt
  4. Then I hand sewed it on to the back, looked out the window and decided I had a fine day where I could wash it and most likely get it dry, so I did.  And then a little time in front of the fire and airing cupboard and I was happy with it.Quilt drying on line
  5. What it looked like when finished, it measured about 58 inches across and 66 inches long approx. The pattern was bigger but I only wanted something for a lap quilt.
  6. And it was delivered.Completed quilt - Garden Charm

 

 

12 thoughts on “July finish for One Month Goal

    • I know, I started doing quilting from middle to end, then a local experienced quilter said start and the edge. I didn’t trust her, being so new I was only going to do what I had heard about. Then I watched Small Machine Big Quilts with Ann Peterson on Craftsy. Changed totally the way I do things and I love it.

      Like

  1. Wonderful quilt. You have several interesting things going on here I have not done. Fleece and batting – I skip batting if using fleece but have only do baby quilts that way, Lint roller for holding the binding – great idea, Wrapped in a cute bow! Adorable!

    Like

    • Sharon thank you. Normally I have used a thin cotton batting when using fleece but went for the double whammy with the wool and love how it puffs up, doing it on another at present.

      Like

Leave a Reply

