November Goal – Quilting Author Names

Banner

I am linking up with Elm Street Quilts for this November goal.

My goal was to quilt author names on the bottom two rows of my bookcase quilt, and I am happy to say that I achieved it.  I am so pleased that I noticed Leah Day quilting words on to quilts and this is working out just as I wanted it.

As I have quilted these author names it has been with happy memories of all the books I read that have brought me so much reading pleasure.

First an overview….

Bookcase quilt

These are authors from childhood. When I was growing up there was no library in my small country town and one (expensive) bookshop. My main book diet was Enid Blyton a prolific English author.

Bookcase quilt shelf

The rest of this shelf. As I grew up I found romance authors – lots of them, no longer remember their names.  Zane Grey – while cowboy stories, they could be termed romance as well!

A shelf on a quilt bookcase

Now there is more of a mix between English and USA authors and the occasional New Zealand author as well. I discovered the Outlander books very early on when the first one was published now a long time ago!

bookcase quilt shelf

Now I am reading so many more USA books – with the advent of the internet, the influence of other readers helps me discover new authors. I think Jodi Picoult, is the only one found at that time in my local bookshops. By this time Amazon and other second hand bookshops like Thriftbooks are available.   The ereader was not yet being sold!

bookcase quilt shelf

 

 

14 thoughts on “November Goal – Quilting Author Names

  1. Hi Kathryn! This has turned out so lovely. I don’t think you could have done anything better, and I love the additions beyond the books. Up next is quilting? You are definitely inspiring me to make one of these, too! Happy Happy Sunday to you! ~smile~ Roseanne

    Like

  2. You can spend a lot of time looking at this quilt can’t you. I love the different colours and the author’s names embroidered on the books (I’m English and my daughter is reading ‘The Famous Five’ right now so Enid Blyton made me chuckle) and I really like the teapot and the cat. Looking forward to seeing it quilted.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.