Cured of Making Mystery Quilts

TDT.jpg

Linking Up with  Quilt Schmilt

Plans for the last two weeks were

  • Next Blockheads block. Well its been two weeks so two blocks2 latest Blockheads 5.
  • Quilt the stars on the Oh My Stars quilt and then add binding. Done, this was just the small size but that’s okay by me. I used Cozy Up 5inch squares and a border from that fabric. Stars from my stash. Oh My Stars.
  • Start in on making the edge blocks, half and quarter B blocks  for the Bonnie Hunter mystery quilt, then start sewing rows. I did get this done and all the rows are together. I am really not in love! I used different colours, which did not quite work. However it was all those points and small blocks that did me in. The back of this top is very messy!! It’s not for me, I don’t mind a BOM but I am a person really who likes to know where they are going!  Thanks to Bonnie Hunter anyway, she is very talented with scrap quilts.Mystery 24
  • My February WIP turned out to be the 3″ blocks I’d made during Sewcialites 2. I’d made 12 of them so I will turn them into cushions. (pillows) I have completed one.Cushion 1
  • Finally I am making a temperature quilt with the free pattern from FQS. January is finished and the block made. A tree is for the last day as there are 31 days in January. I am using scraps from my stash, on the back of the quilt I’ll put a key to each fabric. The dark pink is 27-28 degrees C.  which is about 82 degrees F. However it has not been so much the temps as the humidity that has been the issue.  Very high.January temps

Plans for the Coming Week(s)

  • Make another cushion (pillow)
  • Make next Blockheads block
  • Maybe trim the edge of the mystery quilt and then sew a lap to keep the stitches firm. I am going to eventually add a border but I am not putting on the final pieced border. Had enough!
  • Keep the February temperature block going.
  • Whatever I feel like working on.

4 thoughts on “Cured of Making Mystery Quilts

  1. Your Oh My Stars quilt is beautiful! BOMs and mystery QALs and SAHRRs make me run screaming. I have to know where I am going before I start a project. I consider that a “flaw” in my DNA – lol! I probably miss out on a lot because of it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Linda. I kind of see where a BOM is going but not a mystery quilt, too much is unknown. So I am not a good candidate for them. I am also programmed to finish things I start which is a bit of a nuisance too!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Kathryn! I am not a mystery quilt maker either. But with that being said, I think your version of BH’s mystery project is just gorgeous. Step back and LOOK at it! The rich tones in the deep purple coupled with the darker greens is fabulous. I don’t even like purple but I would put it on my bed in a heartbeat. Both of your BOM blocks are gorgeous and the temperature block as a house is brilliant. I look forward to seeing what you do with the 29 days of February. I will finish in a pretty quilt at the end of the year. {{Hugs}} ~smile~ Roseanne

    Like

  3. Thanks Roseanne. I think actually the BH mystery quilt was above my competence level. I don’t have that kind of patience to read every detail and press accordingly etc. Anyway I am cured. Thank you for the thoughts on the colours, I think putting it away for awhile will help! It is fun to do the temperature houses quilt and track them for a year.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.